Lawn Fawn Challenge #3…..Special Occasions

Hi there friends!  I’m back again for the third Lawn Fawn Challenge.  This time the theme is special occasions.  Events like weddings, baby births, milestone anniversaries……and my choice for this, purchasing a new home!  I live in a relatively new development and over the last month there have been two homes that have closed directly across the street.  As I look out my front window I see all sorts of building going on and think about the people who are about to start a new phase in their retirement life.  We did this just over two years ago and it was very exciting to walk into your new home that you actually owned for the very first time.  Good memories!

But wait………..how could I possibly forget one of the most important people in my life?!?!  As I write this my daughter and her hubby of not quite a year are signing papers on their very first home together!  So this card also has special meaning to me for that reason.  Probably the main reason I decided to make it for this challenge.  So here goes……………

I loved the thought of driving up to the new house and seeing it welcoming you, so that’s what I decided to do.  Here is the final card:

 (c) Nancy Roth

I started with a standard A2 card and then decided where I wanted my far away hill to go.  I cut it out of green textured cardstock using the Stitched Hillside Borders.  I then cut out the larger of the Little Town Hillside Pop-Up Add On out of white cardstock.  I chose 3 houses from the one end that would work with my green hillside and snipped them off and trimmed the bottom edge to fit behind the green.  Just goes to show that you can adapt these dies to all sorts of situations!  I colored the houses with Copic markers to emphasize the center house (in the same color as the actual new home, if you wish) and cut out the yellow tabs for behind that one house only, then I attached the houses behind the hillside.

To make the sky, I laid the finished piece from above onto the card front to get an idea where it would go.  I lightly marked the sky area as well as where my main house would sit.  Then I used Tim Holtz Distress Oxide inks in Broken China and Faded Jeans to color the sky.  Using a smaller sponge dauber I added Fossilized Amber behind where the main house would be so that it looks like it is really glowing.  Once this was done I adhered the hillside piece to the front of the card.

Next I stamped the car from Home For The Holidays onto white cardstock and colored it with Copic markers.  You can color the car the same color of the car owned by the new homeowners to make it more personalized.  I then die cut it out with the matching die.  At this time I realized that the car seemed lost on the large green area, so I decided to add another layer of grass and a bit of a road.  I just happened to have a piece of the grass left that I used in my Easter card for the #2 challenge, so I cut that to fit for a layer to hide some of the road as the car drives up.  I darkened the tips of the grass with Tsukineko’s Eucalyptus walnut stain, pulled the grass tips out a bit to make it more dimensional and then added it with foam tape.  Since I currently don’t have the road dies from Lawn Fawn, I just hand cut and fit a piece of black cardstock for the road and attached behind the grass.  I then attached the car with some foam tape.

Lastly, I cut 2 pine trees also from the Home for the Holidays set and colored them with Copics.  I then stamped a sentiment that I had on hand to finish it off.  What a wonderful surprise this would be for the new homeowners to find in their mailbox!  A welcome to the neighborhood and making new friends.

Have fun with all your new creations!

2 thoughts on “Lawn Fawn Challenge #3…..Special Occasions

  1. Wow, this is such a special card! I love the story behind it, you captured the idea perfectly! Thanks so much for sharing with us at Lawn Fawnatics!

    Like

  2. Congratulations to your daughter, exciting times. Love how you’ve gone for the driving idea; I remember the first time I drove from work to my new house I got lost and had to ring my husband who spent about 5 minutes laughed before he could actually give me directions home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

