Christmas Cheer – Visiting Blogger

Hello All! I’m the resident technical expert behind InkedTreasures, AKA The Daughter. My Mom’s been feeling a little under the weather so I decided to come out from behind the scenes and help out a bit! I’m afraid that I’m not a paper crafting expert (I’m a big knitter, I find that I get the added benefit of going to pet alpaca and sheep in my preferred craft), but I can offer some fun things my Mom has done for me over the years. I’ll let her come behind and offer some commentary on how she made everything.

So for this blog post I wanted to show you the Christmas cards that she made for my husband and I the past two years. We get matching cards except for the difference of which animal is present! I think it’s a really fun way to give couples cards if you’re giving them both gift cards without actually having to come up with two separate designs.

Above you see our cards from 2015. The fronts are identical, but inside we find different friends riding Santa’s sleigh! Will (Said husband) went to Marist College and their mascot is a red fox, so he’s always been fond of foxes. The sheep is in mine for obvious reasons already stated. The fun part of these cards is there’s space behind the sleighs so both contained gift cards as well.

My contribution to this project was to make the little stands that keep them both open and standing upright for display. I used some hard plastic that I was going to recycle (Any type of plastic clamshell that protects items in a store will work) and cut out a section about 2″x2″. Then I folded it in half and cut a slit into it so when I unfolded it it looked like a V. Then it just snapped onto the card and helped keep it open!

This year’s card had a similar theme in that it was also a gift card holder (You can see the GC receipt sticking out of the pocket in my mine) and also featured a sheep and a fox, but radically different design from last year. There was actually a window on the front that made our animals look like they were in a little ornament, but when you opened them up, the animals popped up for better viewing! I’m not entirely sure how she comes up with these things, but even Will raves about them and shows them off to his friends. There was an extra strong magnet in the flap to make sure the card could stay closed rather than just trying to fly open all of the time.

I think that’s it for this post! Hope you enjoyed some different designs! I’ll make sure to pop in every now and then for a guest blog post. I have tons of material from over the years of my Mom experimenting to show off.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cheer – Visiting Blogger

  1. Hi, it is so nice that you have popped in on behalf of your mom,
    The cards are beautiful and you definately have one talented mom and I am sure you follow in her foot steps.
    I do hope your mom will be feeling better soon and please pass on my best wishes ( tell her from blondie1 on the joanna sheen forum )

    Dawn x

    Like

Leave a Reply

